Mailbox Monday

Mailbox Monday is a weekly blog link up hosted by Leslie of Under My Apple Tree, Serena of Savvy Verse & Wit and Martha of Reviews by Martha’s Bookshelf.

I did put myself on a book buying ban, but this week I added five new ebooks to my collection. All of these ebooks were reduced to 99p when I purchased them last week, and for that price I couldn’t say no.

I have a few other books by Dawn O’Porter and on TBR so was excited to see Paper Aeroplanes reduced. The Catch by T.M. Logan I purchased to take part in Book Club Buddies September reads over on Instagram. I have also seen a lot of good reviews for The Bees and Followers on bookstagram. I have had The Bees on my wishlist for a while in paperback format, but for 99p I went for the ebook format. The last book I decided on was Love as always mum, I enjoy a good true crime story so interested to read this.

I have included the description for each book below. What new books did you add to your TBR pile this week?

Paper Aeroplanes by Dawn O’Porter

It’s the mid-1990s, and fifteen year-old Guernsey schoolgirls, Renée and Flo, are not really meant to be friends.  Thoughtful, introspective and studious Flo couldn’t be more different to ambitious, extroverted and sexually curious Renée. But Renée and Flo are united by loneliness and their dysfunctional families, and an intense bond is formed.  Although there are obstacles to their friendship (namely Flo’s jealous ex-best friend and Renée’s growing infatuation with Flo’s brother), fifteen is an age where anything can happen, where life stretches out before you, and when every betrayal feels like the end of the world.  For Renée and Flo it is the time of their lives.

Love as Always, Mum xxx by Mae West

It has taken over 20 years for Mae West to find the perspective and strength to tell her remarkable story: One of an abusive, violent childhood, of her serial killer parents and how she has rebuilt her life in the shadow of their terrible crimes. Through her own memories, research and the letters her mother wrote to her from prison, Mae shares her emotionally powerful account of her life as a West. From a toddler locked in the deathly basement to a teen fighting off the sexual advances of her father, Mae’s story is one of survival. It also answers the questions: How do you come to terms with knowing your childhood bedroom was a graveyard? How do you accept the fact your parents sexually tortured, murdered and dismembered young women? How do you become a mother yourself when you’re haunted by the knowledge that your own mother was a monster? Why were you spared and how do you escape the nightmare?

The Catch by T.M. Logan

She says he’s perfect. I know he’s lying . . .He caught me watching, and our eyes met. That was when it hit me. There was something not quite right about my daughter’s new boyfriend . . .

The doting father Ed finally meets his daughter’s boyfriend for the first time. Smart, successful and handsome, Ryan appears to be a real catch. Then Abbie announces their plan to get married.

The perfect fiancé There’s just one problem. Ed thinks Ryan is lying to them.

Who would you believe? All of Ed’s instincts tell him his daughter is in terrible danger – but no-one else can see it. With the wedding date approaching fast, Ed sets out to uncover Ryan’s secrets, before it’s too late . . .

The Bees by Laline Paull

Born into the lowest class of her society, Flora 717 is a sanitation bee, only fit to clean her orchard hive. Living to accept, obey and serve, she is prepared to sacrifice everything for her beloved holy mother, the Queen. But Flora is not like other bees. Despite her ugliness she has talents that are not typical of her kin. While mutant bees are usually instantly destroyed, Flora is removed from sanitation duty and is allowed to feed the newborns, before becoming a forager, collecting pollen on the wing. She also finds her way into the Queen’s inner sanctum, where she discovers secrets both sublime and ominous. But enemies are everywhere, from the fearsome fertility police to the high priestesses who jealously guard the Hive Mind. And when Flora breaks the most sacred law of all her instinct to serve is overshadowed by an even deeper desire, a fierce love that will lead to the unthinkable . . . Laline Paull’s chilling yet ultimately triumphant novel creates a luminous world both alien and uncannily familiar. Thrilling and imaginative, ‘The Bees’ is the story of a heroine who, in the face of an increasingly desperate struggle for survival, changes her destiny and her world.

Followers by Megan Angelo

When everyone is watching you can run, but you can’t hide…

2051. Marlow and her mother, Floss, have been handpicked to live their lives on camera, in the closed community of Constellation. Unlike her mother, who adores the spotlight, Marlow hates having her every move judged by a national audience. But she isn’t brave enough to escape until she discovers a shattering secret about her birth. Now she must unravel the truth around her own history in a terrifying race against time…

An explosive and unsettling novel set in the near-future, perfect for fans of Station Eleven, Black Mirror, The Circle and Friend Request.

6 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday

  1. I wish I had the willpower to resist buying books at times. It’s hard. The Catch sounds great. I read The Vacation by I believe the same author.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s